Recipe Wednesday: Fresh Strawberry Cake

Standard

When I was a kid, the only strawberry flavored food that I would willingly eat was Strawberry Pop-tarts.  I can’t believe that I admitted that out loud.  Sad, but true. Sorry Pop-tart makers.  You will be happy to know that I now have a mature palate and Pop-tarts are no longer on the menu in my house. However, if you are looking for a good strawberry cake/cupcake recipe I have one for you. This cake is my oldest daughter’s favorite and she requests it for all of her special occasions – birthdays, graduations, new jobs…Tuesdays.

By the way, did I tell you that our oldest girl has her first post college job as an accountant?  WHOOT!  Big Poppa and I are so happy and excited for her.  New beginnings are always fun and we love to see her spreading her wings.  Not to mention that we are even happier to be one step closer to getting one of our crew off of the  payroll!!!  At least I’m honest. I digress.

I’ve played with this recipe for a while and I’d say (and my daughter would agree) that it’s pretty perfect.  *Please note that this recipe calls for a 10 oz. package of frozen strawberries.  I use 10 oz. of fresh pureed strawberries and I believe that this makes all of the difference in the world.  This cake tastes authentically strawberry and not artificially strawberry.

Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes/Cake

Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes/Cake

 

Fresh Strawberry Cake

1 (18.25 oz.) white cake mix (NOT VANILLA)

1 (3 oz.) box strawberry flavored instant gelatin

1 (10 oz.) package frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed (*see note above)

4 large eggs

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1/4 c. water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease 2 round 9-inch cake pans (if making cupcakes, fill each cupcake tin 1/2 full).  In a large bowl combine cake mix and gelatin. Add pureed strawberries, eggs, oil and water; beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth.  Pour into prepared pans and bake for 20 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean.  Let cool in pans for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans , and cool completely on wire racks.

 

Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

1/4 c. butter, softened

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened

1 (10 oz.) package frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed (*see note above)

1/2 tsp. strawberry extract (*I don’t use this.  Use it to suit your taste.)

7 c. confectioners’ sugar

In a large bowl,  beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy.  Beat in 1/4 c. strawberry puree, reserving remaining for another use.  Beat in extract.  Gradually add confectioners sugar, beating until smooth.  For pinker frosting, add 2 to 3 drops of red food coloring to frosting.

 

🙂

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

