Identity Crisis

Standard

Since I started blogging almost a year and a half ago, I have struggled with categorizing what type of blogger I am.  I’m trying to focus, really I am and  I do get that this is fairly important in order to gain readers that share my interests.  Every blogger wants to grow their audience.  However, next to “What’s for dinner?” my least favorite question to be asked is  “What type of blog do you write?”  The answer is “I don’t know.”

My So Called Glamorous Life: The Adventures of a Domestic Engineer

My So Called Glamorous Life: The Adventures of a Domestic Engineer

It happened again today.  While at church, I handed someone my business card and the first thing out of their mouth was, “What kind of blog do you write?”  I hesitated a bit then said “Well, check it out and you be the judge.” I know, it was lame, but it was all I could think of.  Here’s the thing:

I’m a mom, but I’m not a “mom blogger”.

I’m a Christian, but I’m not a Christian blogger.

I love to cook, but I’m not a food blogger.

I love good design, but I am not a design blogger.

I’m a feminist, but I am not a feminist blogger.

I am African-American, but I blog for everyone.

My favorite was when someone asked if my blog was for “older women who are empty-nesters”.  I was like “Dude! My nest is over flowing!”  However, I do appreciate the wisdom that has come with age.

In fact, I blog about all of this and more to some degree because all of this is uniquely me. My experience and my perspective.  My life (and I’m willing to bet yours, too) is so complicated and my interests so varied that I could never limit my writing to just one or two topics.  Wouldn’t you agree about your life, also?  After all, people tend to be multifaceted.

So, I guess, that if I must answer the question, I would say that I’m a lifestyle blogger.  Yes? No? Maybe?  Apparently, I am having an identity crisis.

What I do know is that I appreciate each and every one of you for whatever reason you are here.  I hope that you enjoy what I have to offer and that you walk away with information, encouragement, inspiration, an idea or a good laugh.  Thank you for hanging out with me.

 

Lisa

 

2 responses »

  1. I completely understand and appreciate your post and dilemma. I wanted my blog to be about mothering, but I have included guest posts from fathers. I wanted to write about women’s empowerment, but since we are spending 5 months living and traveling in Australia, I have posted about our adventures. I have a ton posts in my head and scribbled on scraps of paper about when my kids were growing up, but I’m really an empty nester these days. Would love to also pos about living and eating gluten free, as well my time spent on playing with stitching projects. So many parts of me, they all fit together nicely, but defy categories. Lifestyle sounds right, but I’m no celebrity nor a brand, and what does lifestyle blogger really mean afterall? Someday I’ll figure it out, but probably not today!

Leave a Reply

