Recipe Wednesday: Crustless Brownie Pie

Standard

It is taking me a while to get back to normal after Easter Sunday.  We had guests for Easter dinner and I have to admit that this was probably the most unorganized that I’ve ever been approaching a holiday.  I just couldn’t get my mojo working. Anyway, those who know me well know that I’m all about desserts; and those who come to eat at my house expect great desserts. So, since it’s “Recipe Wednesday” (I just made that up since I usually post a recipe on Wednesdays. I think I’ll keep it!) I thought I’d share a dessert recipe from Sunday.  It’s chocolate, so I know that you’re all in.

My intentions were to make a chocolate tart.  I had all of my ingredients ready, when I discovered that somewhere between Illinois and Texas, I have lost my spring-form tart pan.  I had already made a Fresh Strawberry Cake, but one of my sons and one of my daughters don’t do strawberries.  Also, I think my family would go into shock if there was only one dessert on a holiday.  Frustrated and grumpy, I went to bed, but I had a recipe in the back of my mind. I couldn’t remember all of the details and I didn’t know where to find it.  Then, at 5:00 the next morning, THIS came to me:

 

Crustless Brownie Pie

Crustless Brownie Pie

 

Easier than a tart and oh, so good.  I paired this with my chocolate glaze (recipe below) and store-bought vanilla ice cream.  Perfect!

Crustless Brownie Pie 

1 1/2 c sugar

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/3 c. cocoa

1/2 c. butter, softened

3 extra-large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

1 c. chopped pecans or walnuts (I use pecans.)

 

1. Combine first 7 ingredients; beat 4 minutes at medium speed with an electric mixer. Stir in pecans. Spread batter evenly in a buttered 9 – inch pie plate.

2. Bake at 325 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes.  Pie will puff and then fall slightly.

 

Chocolate Glaze

Melt 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons heavy cream and drizzle on pie.

My family and guests devoured it and all was again right with the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

