It’s Tuesday, I’m Freezing and We Have a Winner

Standard

Why, hello there!  How are y’all feeling?  Me?  I’m feeling cold!  Yes, the polar vortex is bearing down on south Texas again and I am freezing. While the girls and I walked to school this morning our faces were stinging, my ears were numb (they had on ear muffs) and our noses resembled Rudolph’s.  There’s another winter weather advisory in effect through mid-morning tomorrow which means the possibility of another “No Snow Day”! Just no.  This stopped being amusing a long time ago.

At any rate, I wanted to share something with you.  It’s one of those parenting lessons that one can only fully appreciate when you’re parenting from the rear view mirror like me.  This time around I am fully embracing letting my girls be fully and unapologetically themselves.  As a first time mom there was so much that I wanted to teach show Mr. C.  Not necessarily a bad thing, but I think that I may have had the approach wrong. I had his education, activities, well, pretty much life planned before he was even born.  In part, I think that I was over compensating for him not living with his dad and also, in part because I am a control freak.  I can admit that and I’m okay with it.  You may not be, but I am.  Whatever the reason, in some ways it has served me well, but in other ways it’s been somewhat stifling for him.  So, here I am so many years later with his little sisters and well, let’s just say that with their help (insistence) I have a new attitude.

Anyway, this all brings me to today.  Today is the first day of Read Across America Week commemorating the birthday of everyone’s favorite doctor, Dr. Seuss. The school invited every student to pick their favorite Dr. Seuss character from one of his books and make a stand-up replica or picture to be displayed in the library for the week. Thing 1 immediately asked me to draw her character (Marvin K. Mooney from Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now) and she would take care of the decorating. I did as she asked.

20140303_202746

However, Thing 2 immediately took to planning out her version of the Cat in the Hat. I listened and initially tried to get her to go along with the flow and do something similar to her sister.  But, she had a vision and she was insistent saying to me “It may not work, but at least just let me try.”  Who says no to that?I  So, she cut and she colored and she glued ALL ON HER OWN and this is what she came up with.

20140303_130700

Isn’t that the coolest ever?! And she’s only six-years-old!  Needless to say, her father and I are beyond proud of her and she was proud of herself.  That is, right up until it was time to take it to school.  Then fear and self-doubt over took her and she refused to take it with her this morning.  Big Poppa and I were so disappointed and tried (unsuccessfully) to convince her that no one would laugh at her or think it was terrible.  No.  She refused.  Now it lies on my kitchen counter where it will stay for a long while as a reminder of how important it is for parents to allow their children to just do their own thing. Their thing may not always be the best or the prettiest, but it will be uniquely their own.  Also, it is a reminder to parents for the constant need to build up your children  – their courage and self-confidence.  It’s not a done deal since she can always take it in later in the week.  Big Poppa and I are still encouraging her to do so.  Please feel free to leave any words of encouragement for her in the comments and just maybe we can get this awesome Cat in the Hat to school this week.

And now, on to other business…

PhotoGrid_1393642893186

The winner of the 2014 Black History Month Book Parade Giveaway is Kimberly M.  Yay, you!!! Kim, just post a comment with the name of the book from the parade that you would like to receive and I will send it out to you right away.  Thank you all so much for following along this year and I can’t wait to do it again in 2015.  🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

