New Year, Same Me

Standard
Chicago in the Winter

Chicago in the Winter – The Bean

I’m in Chicago on probably the coldest 24 to 48 hours in years, with wind chills expected to go to around 50 below zero.   As much as I love this city,  right now I’d really rather be anywhere else.  Well, anywhere else that the temperature is at least above zero.   Needless to say, I spent this day indoors resting, chatting, eating cookies, surfing the net and other fun stuff.  Totally relaxing if you don’t count the part where I spent hours on hold trying to get another flight home.  Living in south Texas for the past year and a half,  I have really missed Winter.  I miss the quiet stillness of the snow and the way it forms a fluffy blanket over the earth. I miss the soft glow that the snow gives off  so that it brightens the night sky.   I even miss the cold, not this extreme cold,  but normal cold winter days.  I’m from the Midwest – what can I say?

However, I am looking forward to getting home and getting back into the swing of things.  My kids, my cooking, my blogging and the rest of my life.  Even if there’s no snow at home.  I started my second year of blogging on January 1st and I am ready to get to work.  I’ve got plans…BIG plans!  Well, really, I just have a lot that I want us to talk about.  Some of it serious and some not so serious.  All of it relevant.  Some of it socially conscious, some  totally self-absorbed, all of it truly me.

Unlike previous years, I found no reason to find a new me.  I like the old me just fine.  I do want to tweak a few things like my organizational skills, better meal planning and sticking to my grocery list. Oh, and limiting my Target runs to once a month.   And of course the perfunctory eat better and get more exercise.  I’ll work on that, too, but that’s it.  I’m good.  In fact, I’m better than good.  I’m great!  So, I’m hoping that you all will come along for the ride.  I hope that you will feel free to share and comment on my posts and musings (you all are so quiet) and  I hope that I can inform, encourage and uplift each of you. So, hang on and enjoy my so called glamorous life!

Leave a Reply

