I Prefer Mine Warm

Standard

I’m talking about Banana Pudding.  Apparently this is sacrilege to some people and I stumbled upon this “hot or cold” controversy.  I was discussing with my friend how I had to wait until my Banana Pudding came out of the oven before I went to pick up my girls.  She was like “Wait!  What?!  What’s it doing in the oven?”  Well, of course it goes in the oven!  REAL banana pudding goes in the oven!  At least I thought it did, right?  We compared recipes: eggs (check), vanilla wafers (check), sugar (check), bananas (check), etc. and it turns out that they are somewhat the same except mine includes meringue and is baked in the oven while the cold version includes whipped cream and is not baked in the oven, but placed in the refrigerator instead.  Hence, it’s cold.  My friend was a bit concerned that I have done something completely out of line where Banana Pudding is concerned, but I assured her that it is completely fine.  In fact, it is delicious.  If it makes you feel better, you can split the difference and eat it at room temperature.

Banana Pudding

Banana Pudding

Banana Pudding

3 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 1/3 c. sugar

Dash of salt

3 large eggs, separated

3 c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 (12 oz. ) package of vanilla wafers

6 medium bananas

1/4 c. plus 2 tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Combine first three ingredients in a heavy saucepan. Beat egg yolks; combine egg yolks and milk, stirring well.  Stir into dry ingredients; cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until smooth and thickened.  Remove from heat; stir in 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Layer one-third of wafers in a 3-quart baking dish.  Slice 2 bananas and layer over wafers.  Pour one-third of custard over bananas.  Repeat layers twice.

Beat egg whites at high speed with an electric mixer until foamy.  Gradually add 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.  Add 1 teaspoon vanilla, and beat until blended.  Spread meringue over custard, sealing to the edge of dish.  Bake at 325 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.


*The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook, 1999

4 responses »

  1. Of course banana pudding is warm! That’s the only way to eat it. I can not stomach eating it cold or out of the fridge. Yuck!

  2. Pingback: Banana Pudding… My Way… | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

