Over Looking the Obvious

Standard

.PhotoGrid_1383305535109

Today’s post topic on the 28 Days of Celebrating Thanks blog link – up over at Champagne to Crayons is “a project that I have done”.  I had no idea what to write about.  I mean, sure, I’ve worked on projects at work over the years.  There have been school projects with the kids and house decorating projects.  My husband,   he’s a project of mine sometimes, but really I could think of nothing that made me want to blog about it.  So, this morning I was talking to my son, Mr. C., about needing to find something suitable for this topic and he just kind of stood there and looked at me with an expression that said “You poor, poor old woman.”

“Why are you looking at me like that?”, I asked.

“Well, Mom, you could write about…your blog.”

“Oh, yeah…I could, couldn’t I ?”

I know, right?  It was really obvious, but somehow I missed it.  In my defense, I’m exhausted and barely forming coherent sentences, so it’s a bit much to expect me to think clearly.  Also, in my mind, a project is something that you plan from conception to completion.  Trust me when I say that there was no planning.   I told my husband that I was going to start a blog, and I did.  I had no idea what I would blog about or how often I would post to the blog.  I did a little research on various types of blogs, followed a few blogs and that was that.  I had no way to measure success and I set no goals.  Hardly a project and I was certainly no project manager.

However, over this first year of blogging, I have learned an awful lot about my craft.  I am learning the lingo: clicks, referrers, page views, etc. I have even set goals for my blog and myself over the next 1 to 2 years. Now, I just have to figure out how to reach them.  It’s definitely a work in progress, but I’m most proud of the fact that I have been consistent and stuck with it.  Blogging is much harder than I thought it would be, but it is well worth the late nights, constant picture-taking and checking my stats.  What makes it satisfying is you, my readers.  I am always surprised and humbled when I encounter someone who is a regular reader.  It is because of you that I want to do this to the best of my ability.  Thank you!

So, I guess what started out as some sort of experiment has evolved into a legitimate project. That’s kind of exciting! I’m nowhere near completion, but I am certainly looking forward to Phase 2.

2 responses »

  1. i love this! as a fellow blogger i know the struggle of getting my own blog going and this is a good reminder of not only how much effort i put in, but how much i love to do it! so, keep up the great posts! love reading them!

Leave a Reply

