A Funny Thing Happened on My Way to Getting Healthy

Standard

time-to-get-healthy

As I get older, I am much more conscious of my need to live a healthier lifestyle.  Cut carbs, go low-fat, shun sugar & exercise more. For a number of reasons, I have a really hard time with all of these things, but I know that they need to be done.  I need to be healthy in order to continue to be here for my babies.  They’re not exactly babies any longer, I know, but you get the idea.  When I started this blog, I was on a diet and exercise kick all in an effort to be better.  Then I went AWOL.  I don’t really know what happened.  I have tried to remember what derailed me, but for the life of me, I’m drawing a blank.  You know what that means, don’t you?  It really was nothing at all.  Just some excuse for me to go home, find the nearest comfy couch, a bag of Oreos and sit down.  

Ah, but alas…it’s time for me to get back on track.  Yes, you heard me say it here folks.  I need to get my butt back in gear and at the very least, get back on some sort of exercise routine.  But, I’m taking baby steps here, first exercise then diet because, you know, the holidays are here and more than one of you have asked me to post some of my favorite Thanksgiving recipes  (that post will be up later this week).  Please don’t make me write about all of the delicious food that graces my holiday table and expect me not to eat it.  That would just be mean.

I will need some encouragement, some cheerleaders and some coaching.  I’m counting on you all to help keep me going because, like I said, exercise is NOT something that I enjoy. However,  I have realized that I need it (everybody needs it) just like I need air to breath. Not to mention that I do want to look a little cuter in my jeans, too!  Just keeping it real.      

  *This post was written in response to the blog link up on Champagne to Crayons, Day 17: Health, Celebrating 28 days of Thanks.If you would like to read more posts from my fellow bloggers, click here.

Leave a Reply

