Validation – My Shining Moment

Standard

About.me_icon

When I first started this blog it was as much about being validated as it was about having an outlet.  I was bitter about moving away from my friends and family and I needed some way to express that, but I also needed something in my life that was genuinely mine.  Me. It needed to be about me or at least completely my creation.  I’ve always been a writer, but I didn’t share much of it because I was too afraid of what other’s would think.  Let’s face it, writers want people to like what they are writing.  We put our thoughts, and our hearts, out there for others to see, judge, and comment on and hope for the best.  Deep down, every one of us wants our readers to agree with us or validate our musings.  At the very least we don’t want to be told that we suck at it because honestly, most of us aren’t making any money at this.  Most of us write because it’s our passion.    

I had been plugging away for a few months when I decided to start submitting posts to BlogHer.    For those of you that don’t know, BlogHer is a blogging website with a reach of over 60 million viewers and has a variety of some of the most talented bloggers and business women out there.  I was unsure of what to expect, but I was certain that I would be a very small fish in a gigantic ocean.  And I was, however, I was not prepared for what happened shortly thereafter.  Soon after I began posting on the BlogHer website, I was notified that my post, What Are We Doing to Our Children?  was chosen to be featured on their Website, Facebook and Twitter.  I was floored!  I was flattered! Finally, I was validated!   Finally, someone who had no connection to me at all had confirmed what I had always known; that yes, I am a writer.  Not to mention, they thought I was talented.  Bonus!  And, not just anyone, but BlogHer, a giant in the blogosphere.  It was a good day…no, a good week…make that, a good month!  I have had posts featured on BlogHer a few more times since then and every time I’m just as honored, and surprised as I was the first time.  I’ll never quite get used to it and I will never forget that first time.  That was definitely my shining moment.

*This post was written in response to the blog link up on Champagne to Crayons, Day 16: My Shining Moment, Celebrating 28 days of Thanks.If you would like to tread more posts from my fellow bloggers, click here.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

