On Family, Friends and Uplifiting

Standard

I’ve gotten a little off track with my blog posting in the past couple of days.  That whole “Life Thing.”  I’m sure that you understand because you have a life, too.  Anyway, as I was looking at the blog prompts for days 3, 4 & 5 of the 28 days of Celebrating Thanks  (A Person That Lifts You Up, Family and Friends respectively)  I realized that they fit perfectly together and I could do a mash-up and then…voila! I’d be all caught up!  Actually, catching up wasn’t really the point.  These things are really intertwined because family can be friends and friends can feel like family.  These people are our life blood and therein we often find our greatest source of encouragement.

Quote by Maya Angelou

Quote by Maya Angelou

Our relationships are to be cherished and our lives filled with people who encourage and inspire us.  So often, we tend to lose sight of the fact that not one of us is an island and capable of sustaining ourselves all alone.  Why then, do we allow people in our lives that aim to detract from us rather than add to our experiences.  Subsequently, why do we fail to acknowledge those people that give us so much of themselves and cheer us on.  Those people that give us tough love and tell us the truth even when it doesn’t sound good.  Those people that listen to our whining then say “Okay, enough!  Pity party over, it’s time to move on.  You can do this!”  Or, they dig in to the tub of ice cream with you and open the pound cake that they brought along with them.  Or, they’re standing at the finish line when you run your first 5K.   Whether it be family or friends, everyone deserves someone in their corner who has their back.  I’m fortunate to be the girl whose married to my biggest cheerleader.  Big Poppa thinks that I’m funny, smart, talented and that I can do absolutely ANYTHING  that I really set my mind on.  I’m always quite sure that he’s wrong, but you know, sometimes it’s actually intimidating.  Occasionally, I’m afraid that I will disappoint him if I fail.   He never seems to be concerned about that.  His enthusiasm is contagious and he always manages to get me to believing right along with him.

Right now I’ve hit a sweet spot in my life when I have realized that my husband, my kids, my siblings  and those few friends that are closest to me are really what life is all about.  Those intimate moments with the people who know you the best and like you anyway.  So much of what we dwell on is superficial and unnecessary, but those that I love and hold dear make my life complete.  My friends, please don’t waste your time on detractors.  Rid your life of any unnecessary baggage and love on those that love you.

*This post is in response to a blog prompt 28 Days of Celebrating Thanks, Days 3, 4 & 5 (I cheated a little).  You can read the posts by my fellow bloggers here.   

Leave a Reply

