What Now?

Standard

I’m sad.  Too sad to talk about it, really.  I guess you know how I feel about the killing of  Trayvon Martin since my thoughts have been all over the internet in the past week or so (if not, you can read it here:http://www.blogher.com/its-not-just-about-trayvon?from=bhspinner ).  I’m not surprised, but so disappointed.  And very sad.  Too make matters worse, I have spent part of the day reading articles and comments on various websites and finally had to just stop.  There are a lot of people out there who gain a lot of courage to say the most disgusting things behind the anonymity of a computer screen.  Many have taken what is a tragic event by any standard and turned it into a political issue, insisting that anyone who finds any sympathy for Trayvon Martin’s family is somehow some liberal idiot.  While the other side comes back and screams conservative racism. Really?  This is a dead 17-year-old kid and that is where we’re coming from?  By the way, bigotry and racism belongs to everyone: red, blue, Conservative, Liberal.  Every one of us is guilty in some way.

Now, we have to try to find a way to move forward.  To make sense of this mess and to heal.  To admit that we are a broken nation who often live in different worlds.  As individual ethnicities we must fix what’s broken in our own communities before we can earn the respect of others.  However, other ethnic groups must not avert their eyes or ignore their own transgressions against another.  Honest dialogue is the only way this nation can make real progress.  Okay, I’m done…at least for now.

Langston Hughes is one of my favorite poets and I’m going to leave you with one of his poems that pretty much sums up what I’m feeling.  Take care.

I Dream A World

I dream a world where man
No other man will scorn,
Where love will bless the earth
And peace its paths adorn
I dream a world where all
Will know sweet freedom’s way,
Where greed no longer saps the soul
Nor avarice blights our day.
A world I dream where black or white,
Whatever race you be,
Will share the bounties of the earth
And every man is free,
Where wretchedness will hang its head
And joy, like a pearl,
Attends the needs of all mankind-
Of such I dream, my world!

Langston Hughes

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

