Summertime

Standard

keep-calm-it-s-summer-vacation

In the immortal words of  The Fresh Prince, Will Smith:

“Summer,  Summer, Summertime,

Time to sit back and unwind”

You know you want to sing it, too!  There you go…groovin’. You do know that the song will be stuck in your head for the rest of the day now, don’t you?

Yes, folks, it’s here.  The count down is over.  It’s the last day of school and the official start to summer.  My kids are beyond excited and to tell the truth, so am I because we need a change of pace.  I’m pretty much over the whole rush to get ready for school in the morning.  Yelling at the girls to quit playing and eat their breakfast.  Making sure that there is a snack in the backpack. Trying to find two of the same shoe and explaining how it works better if you put both of your shoes in the closet after you take them off. Yes, we all need a break.

By the way, if you check back with me in about 12 weeks (hopefully, you  will be reading my blog more often than that) I will be saying something like “I can’t wait for school to start!  We need a break from each other, blah, blah, blah.”  Yea, that’s generally how this whole thing works.

I have spent the majority of the past couple of weeks just getting prepared to have the girls home every day and by “every day” I don’t mean the whole day.  I have things planned.  Art classes, acting and engineering camps, dance, swimming, field trips, library visits, etc.  Something that you may not know about me is that, I’m not good just winging it.  I don’t like leaving things to chance.  Not that there won’t be down time.  It’s just that I have planned the down time.  Remember?  I’m a planner.  So, we are going to have pajama days, and mani/pedi days, and play-date days.  Just look at my calendar, you’ll see them.  I find that the time tends to go better when I have at least some idea of what should be going on.  However, I am flexible enough to go with the flow if I see things need to change.  I’m not completely unreasonable.

You think I’m controlling and/or neurotic don’t you?  You’re probably right.  Don’t judge me.

So, let me tell you about tomorrow.  Since it’s just a half day, after I pick them up, I am going to present them with their brand new library cards and we are going to head to the library to join the summer reading club.  Since we have dance class later, we can’t really do a lot but, I think some frozen yogurt just might be in order.  I’m betting that the fro-yo is going to be the most popular stop that we make, yes?  We’ll see.

I haven’t forgotten that Wednesday is recipe day but, I had to get that out of the way first because I’m so excited, you see.  Also, today’s recipes are so easy that I almost don’t really want to call them “recipes” .  They are perfect for summer, when you don’t want to be stuck in the kitchen but, you want to look like you’re…like…FABULOUS.  Yes, there are two and I made both of them in one day because I wanted something chocolate and non-chocolate. In two hours I had two really wonderful desserts.  Yep, they’re that easy.

Here’s the funny part:  They really don’t have names.  One I call Peach Dessert and it’s kind of like a cross between a peach cobbler and a cake.  The other is called Chocolate Dessert and it’s like a cross between a chocolate snack cake and a brownie.   Both are really rich and ooey gooey and Big Poppa and the girls love of them.

Peach Dessert

Peach Dessert

Peach Dessert

1 box yellow cake mix

1 large can sliced peaches, in syrup

1 cup melted butter

Spread 1/2 cake mix (dry) in bottom of greased 13 x 9 inch pan.  Pour peaches, including liquid, on top.  Spread remaining cake mix on top and pour melted butter over the top.  Bake 45 – 50 minutes at 350 degrees.

And now, for you chocolate lovers out there:

Chocolate Dessert

Chocolate Dessert

Chocolate Dessert

1 box dark chocolate cake mix

1 10 oz. package semi – sweet chocolate chips

1 12 oz, can evaporated milk (NOT sweetened condensed milk)

3/4 cups butter

Spread dry cake mix on bottom of a greased 13 x 9 inch baking pan.  Spread chocolate chips on top.  Pour evaporated milk on top of chips and cake mix.  Gently mix the ingredients with a spoon just to combine.  Do not over stir. Pour melted butter on top and bake 30 minutes in 350 degree oven.  Be very careful not to over bake.

Leave a Reply

