Sink or Swim

Standard

20130529_092901

I think that I may have said this before but,  this move to Texas has been hard, particularly on me, Mr. C and Thing 1.  Daddy and Thing 2 have been a little better at adapting to their new surroundings.  The part that really broke my heart was Thing 1’s increasing dislike of her new school.  Kindergarten had been such a huge success that I became concerned that her social struggles during First grade would become academic struggles.  There were some bumps along the way, but they were mostly normal for an active, six-year-old Drama Queen.   Let’s just say that it’s been a long school year.

Finally, about a month ago, I took her to lunch after a doctor’s appointment but, before I took her back to school and gave her a pep talk (and macaroni and cheese).  During our talk she said to me “Mom, I just don’t like it here.  I want to go home.” I knew exactly how she felt, but I said “Sometimes, you don’t have control over your circumstances.  You’re just thrown into it, kinda like if you get thrown into a swimming pool and you’re either going to sink or you’re going to learn to swim.”    For the next 30 seconds she looked at me, then looked at her food, then back at me, then back at her food.  Finally, she said, “Oh, I get it!  If  you get thrown into a pool and even if you don’t like it, if you don’t learn to swim, you’ll drown!  So, I just gotta learn to deal with it!”  That sounded way more drastic than I had intended but, it was indeed an accurate translation.  I smiled, “Uh, exactly.”  We really didn’t talk much about it after that and she continued to complain but, at least she stopped crying before school.

Well, here we are at the end of the year and I just attended Thing 1’s Celebration of Learning ceremony.  This is when the teacher hands out to the students various awards that they have earned for the year.  The students and the parents are unaware of the awards that they are going to receive and quite frankly, I didn’t care.  I just wanted to go and celebrate the end of the year and the beginning of the summer with my girl.  Apparently, sometime after our little lunch chat, Thing 1 decided that she was Olympic medalist Missy Franklin because boy, did she ever swim:

20130530_194723

Honor Roll Award

20130530_194700

Principal’s Award

20130530_194607

The Good Friend Award

(This is my favorite.)

The awards themselves don’t really matter to me,  after all she is only in First Grade.  It’s certainly not going to be the hardest year of her academic career.  It’s the fact that she did her best even when she wanted to be somewhere – anywhere – else that make me proud of my girl.

Leave a Reply

