Chocolate + Free Stuff = Perfection!

Standard

It’s here! My very first give-away just in time for Mother’s Day and I’m so excited!  I’m trying to decide if I want to talk food first or the give-away first, which, in a way they are kind of related but, not really. Maybe.  Yes,  actually I think that they are related so let’s talk about both.

First let me say that this is not just about Mother’s Day so, please don’t feel like if you’re not a mom or don’t need a gift for your mom, you can’t participate.  It’s really about anyone who loves food or knows someone else who loves  food; loves to cook or knows someone else who loves to cook; wants to have someone else cook for them; wants to just look like they know how to cook; or just likes to get free stuff.  If any of that pertains to you, then you’re good to go.  The reason that I decided to link this to Mother’s Day is because it was inspired by my memories of my mother or at least a specific chocolate cake recipe of hers (I told you that there was chocolate involved).

When I was young, my mother used to make dessert every Sunday with dinner.  Dessert was intended to last for the week and depending upon what it was, sometimes it would make it until Thursday, while other times it would barely make it to the next day.  She had a recipe for a quick and easy chocolate sheet cake called “Hurry Up Chocolate Cake” that was just wonderful.  That was one of those desserts that never made it past the next day.  It was chocolately, but not too chocolatey; rich, but not too rich and it had this fudgy frosting that was to die for.  Excellent!  Over the years I had no idea what had happened to the recipe, it just fell off of my radar.  Obviously, though, the memories still linger on.  Well, one day I was flipping through one of my two  favorite cook books, The All-New Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook (this and its predecessor, The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook, are my kitchen bibles.  Wonderful! More on that later)  when I came across a recipe for Texas Sheet Cake that sounded like it would taste a lot like my mom’s “Hurry Up Chocolate Cake”.  It does and it’s so good!  I was talking about the recipe with one of my aunts, my mother’s sister, and she said, “You know, that sounds like a “Hurry Up Chocolate Cake”.  She pulled that recipe from her file and read it to me.  They are, in fact, very similar.  Made me smile.  20130429_223456

Texas Sheet Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use butter flavored shortening)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten $
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preparation

  1. Sift together sugar and flour in a large bowl; set aside.
  2. Combine butter and next 3 ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, until butter and shortening melt. Remove from heat, and pour over sugar mixture, stirring until dissolved. Cool slightly.
  3. Stir in buttermilk and next 3 ingredients. Pour into a greased and lightly floured 15- x 10-inch jellyroll pan.
  4. Bake at 400° for 20 minutes. (Cake will have a fudgelike texture.) Spread warm cake with Chocolate Icing.

Chocolate Icing

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/3 cup milk $
  • 1 (16-ounce) package powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans

Preparation

  1. Combine butter, cocoa, and milk in medium saucepan. Cook over low heat 5 minutes or until margarine melts. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, vanilla, and pecans. Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth and sugar dissolves.

That’s it!  Easy, peasy!   The best part is that it tastes like you worked much harder than you did.

Now, about this cookbook…it is all kinds of FABULOUS! It has over 1,250 recipes and quite honestly, every recipe that I have tried (that’s quite a few) has been delicious.  It’s well written, easy to follow, has lovely pictures of a lot of the recipes and has a variety of recipes from very easy, like the cake above, to somewhat complicated or time/labor intensive (but, even those are not too difficult for your average home-cook).  However, what really makes me swoon about this book (yes, I said swoon) is all of the information that it contains.  From practical information such as how to organize your kitchen to entertaining tips.  It has a kitchen equipment dictionary, salt dictionary, sugar dictionary, glossary of kitchen staples, spice dictionary, a list of kitchen terms and techniques, a Healthy Living section and so much more!  I love this book and I think that you will, too.  So much so that I am giving a copy away  – not my copy, because I would be a hot mess without it, but a brand new copy just for you.

Apron1

You will also receive this saucy little apron, for you to cook in…or, not…cute, ain’t it?  So, now that you know that if you are the winner of the Mother’s Day Give-Away you will receive this fantastic cookbook and this super cute apron, here is how you enter.  Don’t worry, it’s really easy.

At the bottom of this post, leave a reply in the comments section telling me the title and artist of the song that most reminds you of your mom.  That’s it. All done. Comments will be accepted from  now through midnight, Sunday, May 5th.  The winner will be chosen at random and announced on this page, as well as, tweeted out on Monday, May 6th at noon.  Please be aware that only comments left on this blog post will be valid.  I can not accept responses left on Facebook, email, Twitter, Linked-In or any other social media that I may be found on.  Only this blog post!  

Good Luck!

5 responses »

  1. I’ll always love my momma by the Ojays! “I’ll always love my momma, she’s my favorite girl, you only get one ,,,”

  2. I totally missed your deadline and well here it is anyway.
    Alice’s Restaraunt by Arlo Guthrie. And although it’s a more of a spoken word monologue it’s the refrain that puts a smile on my face every time I hear it for more reasons than I can begin to list.

Leave a Reply

