In Need of Some Comfort (Spelled C-H-O-C-O-L-A-T-E)

Standard

One of the best things about being able to bake/cook is that I can supply myself with something yummy in case a crisis arises (crazy kids, broken air conditioner, bad manicure, etc.) and I’m in need of some comfort.  On the other hand, one of the worst things about being able to bake/cook is that I can supply myself with something yummy, but usually fattening, to give me some comfort when I need it.  I know that you’re not supposed to use food to ease your worries, but why else would they call it “comfort food”?  Today is one of those days when I could really wallow in some chocolate, get comfy with some marshmallow cream,  or get lost in a nice, bubbly, warm bowl of mac & cheese.  I won’t apologize because that would be dishonest and I like the fact that our relationship is built on honesty.  You get me.

So, in my despair (I’m not going to bore you with the gory details except to say that one day, you too will be the parent of young-adult children. I will start praying for you now.) I wandered into my pantry to see what I had on hand in case I felt the need to give in to my weakness.  Something was very apparent once I got there: chocolate was definitely the ingredient of choice! I have chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, two different kinds of cocoa, bittersweet and semi-sweet baking bars.  To be honest, I started feeling better just standing there looking at it but, I did finally make a recipe choice and it’s a doosey!  I got this recipe several years ago from Allrecipes.com…you’ll thank me later.

Absolutely Sinful Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Absolutely Sinful Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Absolutely Sinful Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/2, 1 oz. squares unsweetened Chocolate

1/2 c. butter, softened

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/4 c. white sugar

2 eggs (room temperature)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2/3 c. sour cream (this is the secret weapon)

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In the microwave or over double boiler, melt unsweetened chocolate and butter together, stirring occasionally until smooth.

2. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

3. In a medium bowl beat sugar, eggs and vanilla until light.  Mix in the chocolate mixture until well blended.  Stir in the sifted ingredients alternately with the sour cream, them mix in the chocolate chips. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets.

4. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  Allow cookies to cool for 5 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.  Store in an airtight container (except this last part is not important because by the time you settle down on the sofa with a glass of milk and watch a Lifetime movie there won’t be any left).

By the way, I think that this is an appropriate time to tell you that my very first Give-Away is coming up in celebration of  Mother’s Day (but you don’t have to be a mother to win).  I will post details in next Wednesday’s  food blog.   So, share this post!!!

Leave a Reply

