A Very Berry State of Mind

Standard

For whatever reason, my girls and I have been on a berry kick at our  house.  Strawberries, blueberries and blackberries are our favorites.  Every now and again I will throw in a raspberry for good measure but, the girls don’t seem to like them as much.  I’m trying to lose some weight and urge my kids to eat healthy so I tend to keep a variety of fruit in the house.  Do you know (I’m sure that you do) strawberries,  blackberries and blueberries are a good source of antioxidants?  And, strawberries are an excellent source of vitamin C. These are things that I like about berries however, I would never tell my kiddos out of fear that it would automatically make them run the other way.

Beautiful Berries!

Beautiful Berries!

Look at these beauties!  The other day I brought these home and Thing 1 started waxing poetic about a dessert I made once on Memorial Day about two years ago.  Now, if you’ve kept up with things, you know that about two years ago, Thing 1 was about four-years-old.  She’s such a Drama Queen!  She was all “OMG! Remember when you made the little cakes with the berries and whip cream?!?!  It was sooooooo gooood!!!”  She and her sister did remember correctly that I made my version of a Strawberry Shortcake but, what they didn’t know is that it had a little less sugar than your standard version and a lot more flavor because of the variety of berries.  You will also need the following items for the berries:

lime and honey

lime and honey

This is the recipe for a dessert that I like to call All American Shortcake.  I wish that I had a picture of this because it is really pretty, especially for Memorial Day or the Fourth of July, however, I have never made it intending to photographing it.  I think that I’m going to have to change my ways and photograph everything!

Instead of macerating the berries with sugar, drizzle two forkfuls of honey over 32 oz. of your choice of berries (again, I used a  mix of strawberries, blueberries and blackberries).  Then, squeeze the juice of one regular sized lime over the berries and ever so gently toss with a spoon to coat evenly, then set aside.

In a separate bowl blend one cup of heavy whipping cream, two tablespoons of confectioners sugar and one teaspoon of vanilla.  Beat at medium speed until fully whipped and soft peaks form, then refrigerate.

For the biscuits/shortcakes you will need:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cup cold butter, cut up
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 (8-oz.) container sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1.  Combine flour, sugar, and baking powder in a large bowl; cut butter into flour mixture with a pastry blender or two forks until crumbly.
  2.  Whisk together eggs, sour cream, and vanilla until blended; add to flour mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Drop dough by lightly greased 1/3 cupfuls onto a lightly greased baking sheet. (Coat cup with vegetable cooking spray after each drop.)
  3.  Bake at 450° for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden.
  4.  Split shortcakes in half horizontally. Spoon about 1/2 cup berry mixture onto each shortcake bottom; top each with a rounded Tbsp. chilled whipped cream, and cover with tops. Serve with remaining whipped cream. Garnish, if desired (a mint sprig would be really pretty).

I served this as the final course to a meal that included barbecue St. Louis ribs, baked beans and cole slaw.  After finishing dessert, The Dynamic Duo declared Memorial Day to be their most favorite holiday! Ever!  So, that pretty much says that this will be your go to dessert for all patriotic holidays.  God Bless America!  🙂

3 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on My So Called Glamorous Life and commented:

    Memorial Day is coming and for everyone out there except for me and the other families in my school district, it’s a holiday meant for reflection and for celebrating with your family. Oh, wait I’m being passive aggressive again. I’m sorry – but not really. Never the less, I am re-blogging a recipe post from this time last year that includes a favorite family recipe for All American Shortcake. It’s delicious and patriotic. I will be making it on the weekend before Memorial Day because my kids will be in school on Memorial Day. I’m trying not to be bitter. I’m afraid that this will not be the last that you hear about this. In the meantime, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

