Burpees? Are You Kidding Me?!

Standard

Last week on my Facebook page I challenged my readers to double up on their workouts for the week.  I don’t know exactly how many of them actually did it (or shall I say, how many of “you” actually did it,  since some of you may follow me on FB) but, I do know of at least one person who participated but, then she turned around and challenged me to 6 burpees  after every work out. If you don’t know what a burpee is, stay tuned.  I took her up on her challenge but, I didn’t like it.  So, you say, “Silly girl! Why would you double up on your workouts?” Good question!  One that I asked myself every day last week.  Well, mainly because I had reached a plateau and just couldn’t seem to break through.  I had promised myself that for every 10  pounds that I lost, I would reward myself with a new pair of shoes.  I was getting desperate because, no matter how much I want to get back into my old jeans, or how cute I want to look at my daughter’s college graduation next month, I really want those shoes! In fact, I want as many pair of shoes that I can possibly, yet reasonably, get by November when I turn 47.  Then there was the fact that I was losing my focus.  I wasn’t eating as clean as I should be and I was only putting forth minimal effort in my workouts.  I needed to get back into the zone.  Finally,  there was the fact that Easter was coming and, well, I was pretty sure that I was not skipping the Chocolate Pie or the Strawberry Cake.  Would you? So, I increased my exercise plan to about 2 hours per day for four days straight while eating very, very clean.   It was a very long week and I was very sore but, I learned some very valuable lessons during this past week, and they are as follows:

Burpees

1. This is a burpee.  I am not a fan. I believe that the person who created this move is sadistic.

2. Increasing my workouts made me VERY, VERY hungry!  Ravenous would not be an overstatement.

3. Being hungry makes me grouchy.

4. Hard workouts bring better sleep at night.  The only good thing that made up for going to bed hungry and grouchy.

5. Lunges are still worse than burpees.

6. I am much stronger than I thought I was.

7. Pushing yourself pays off.

8. Telling people that you are going to do it kind of forces you to actually follow through and DO IT! I suggest that you not tell others that you are going to do burpees.

9. It feels really good to put on a pair of jeans that had been too tight and find out that they are now actually kind of loose.

There is good news!  I did break through the plateau and actually lost 3 pounds.  Yay, me!  Soooo……..

Reward shoes 1

Aren’t they cute?!  I kind of thought it fitting that my first pair of reward shoes be gym shoes.

Of course now that I’ve eaten everything bad (but, oh so good – if you know what I mean?) I will have to get back on track this week, too.  It’s a vicious cycle.

By the way, if you would like to follow me on Facebook or Twitter, just scroll to the bottom of this page to find links.  I would love to have you!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the encouraging words. I enjoy your blog so much that I can’t wait to see what you are going to wtite about next!

Leave a Reply

