Why Are We Saving Daylight, Anyway?

Standard

I have a bone to pick with Ben Franklin.  Or was it George Vernon Hudson? Whichever, it doesn’t really matter who created Daylight Savings Time, it just matters that someone did and other people went along with it.  Daylight Savings Time is wreaking havoc on me and the girls.  Every year I spend six months walking around dazed and confused (and really grouchy) and for what? Because some guy – and let’s remember that which ever one of these gentlemen really came up with the idea, both of them have been dead a really long time – claimed that it would save energy? I read this article that said that some “experts” now say that there really isn’t much of a savings.  I don’t know who these so-called “experts” are but, I’m siding with them, mainly because I am so sleepy.  And, it’s not just me, because since the time change, every morning is a struggle to get Thing 1 and Thing 2 out of the bed.   And before you say, “make them go to bed earlier,” I have tried that but, they are not sleepy earlier.  Let’s face it, Daylight Savings Time is a dumb idea! There, I said it! In fact, I’m going on the record and saying that we should just abolish the whole silly matter and find some other way to torture people!  Rant over.

Guess what? I had my house power washed this week!  I’ll bet that you are not nearly as excited as I am but, you should try it and I think that you will have a better understanding of my excitement.  You have tried it, you say? Well if you still don’t understand why I’m so thrilled then I don’t know what’s wrong with you.  See, one day, not too long ago but, I really don’t remember exactly when, I noticed mold on the fence and the shutters on the front of my house.  Well, you know what I thought…”Eeeewww!”  So, I said to Big Poppa that I thought that we should have the house power washed.  He responded with an affirmative, “Let’s look into it,” which is his very polite and very cute way of telling me to stand down.  After a bit of time had passed I inquired again and he told me that maybe we should buy a power washer and he would “do it himself.”  Right. Now, in Big Poppa’s defense, he does work and travel a lot.  Therefore, I was neither surprised nor angry that nothing ever came of this “do it myself” thing.  I just called a professional.  To tell the truth, I had no intention of actually hiring anyone at that time, I was really just seeking information.

Now, I have to tell you – with some embarrassment – that this where my sleep enhanced lunacy comes shining through.

This really nice gentleman was explaining to me the services that his company offered  when he paused and said ‘Now, ma’am, do you know if you have mud daubers?”  I had never even heard of mud daubers and I had absolutely no idea what mud daubers were but, it sounded really, really bad, didn’t it?!  In my crazy, crazy mind I saw this little animal, kind of like a cross between a rat and an otter, running across my roof and sidewalks with little muddy feet.  Never mind the fact that I had actually never seen little muddy footprints anywhere, at all, I wanted to scream “Lord, no! Not mud daubers!” Well, I guess that I don’t have to tell you what happened next? Yep, I hired him.  Then I called my husband and told him and when I heard him hesitate I said “Hey! We may have mud daubers!!!” I was bordering on hysterical.  Silence.  Then a very long drawn out “Ooooookaaaay, honey.”  It’s been ten years, folks.  He gets my kind of crazy.  You do realize that I still had no idea what a mud dauber actually was, but it didn’t matter because apparently neither did he and, considering my emotional state, he wasn’t going to ask.   By the way, mud daubers are a type of wasp (I was a little disappointed) that makes its home out of mud attached to your house.  Yes, we did have them but, not anymore.

But, that’s not even the best part. As I was sitting there in my living room counting box tops for the PTA (does the excitement ever stop?!) and watching the soapy water run down my windows, it occurred to me that my windows would be clean.  C’mon now? What woman doesn’t like newly cleaned windows?!  You laugh at me but, the next time that you look out of your dirty windows you will know exactly where I’m coming from.

Oh, wait! I almost forgot.  Big Poppa also invited people over for dinner on Sunday which is one week before we have people over for Easter dinner.  Yes, I know but, he has good intentions.  Anyway, needless to say, I’ve been rolling all of these dinner ideas around in my head but, I’m more interested in dessert. I’m sure that you’re not surprised.  I’ve decided to keep things fairly simple this Sunday and serve this really easy but, wonderful pound cake with vanilla bean ice cream.  My sister gave me this recipe many years ago and it never fails.  I would tell you what a fabulous cook my sister is but, she doesn’t want me discussing her in my blog, so, I think that includes compliments. Just remember that if I say that a recipe comes from her, it’s really, really good. 🙂

CREAM CHEESE POUND CAKE

1 1/2 c. butter

8 oz. cream cheese

3 c. sugar

6 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. lemon extract

3 c. flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour large bundt or tube pan.

Cream butter, cheese and sugar until light.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.  Add flavorings. Add flour.  Pour batter in pans.  Bake for 1 1/4 hours or until toothpick comes out clean.  Be careful not to over bake.

Leave a Reply

