I’m Feeling Like a Slice of Pie! Hint: There’s a Recipe in This Post.

Standard

It’s March! It’s March? Yes, it is, in fact March!  While I was living up north March was about the time that I started getting antsy for warmer weather.  If you have ever lived in or near Chicago, you know that the winters can last well into the official start of Spring.  Actually, my friends up north are dealing with a snow storm as I type this post.  However, living here in Texas has completely thrown my whole change of seasons radar off since it has felt like Spring since…oh…November.  So, even though I had looked at the calendar it didn’t register to me that the first day of Spring is just a few weeks away, which also means that my anniversary is just a few weeks away and that Spring Break for the kids is well, next week.  Needless to say, that since I actually forgot all about Spring Break, there are no big plans, much to the disappointment of the Dynamic Duo.  We will have to do our best to make this an absolutely fantastic stay-cation (I’m sure that at some point I will post about how big of a fail this was but, right now, I must be optimistic)!

The one thing that did occur to me as I realized that Spring is upon us is that lately, I have been feeling a lot like I would LOVE a slice of pie.  Not just any pie but, one that’s associated with warmer weather like Key Lime or Fresh Strawberry or…dare I say it?…Lemon Meringue.  This happens to me as Easter approaches because Lemon Meringue was always one of my mother’s favorite pies to make for her Easter dinner and mine as well.  It’s been years since I have had my mother’s Lemon Meringue Pie but, I have come up with my own version that is absolutely wonderful! And I know it  is because my husband’s twin brother said so and I’m fairly sure that he wouldn’t lie to me.  So, in an effort to hurry Spring along for some of you and because I LOVE PIE and because I really like you, here is my recipe for my Lemon Meringue Pie.  Think Spring!

IMG00334-20110704-1446

 GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST 

*I usually make my own crust but, on occasion I have used a store-bought graham cracker crust and it works just fine.

24 graham crackers (need 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs)

1 Tbs. flour

6 Tbs. unsalted butter (melted)

1/4 c. sugar

Place graham crackers in a large zip lock bag and crush with a rolling pin.  Mix together crumbs and remaining ingredients with hands and press into an 8 or 9 inch pie pan, covering the bottom and the sides.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.

Lemon Pie Filling

1 c. sugar

1/4 c. cornstarch

1 1/2 c. water

4 large eggs, separated

1/8 c. fresh lemon juice (I use Meyer lemons)

1/8 c. fresh lime juice

1/4 c. fresh orange juice

1 Tbs. butter

zest of 1 lemon

zest of 1/4 lime

zest of 1/4 orange

Meringue

4 egg whites

1/3 c. sugar

1 tsp. cream of tartar

In a small bowl, beat the egg yolks and set aside.  Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, stir the sugar and cornstarch on medium heat, while gradually adding about 1/2 cup of the water until dissolved. Add the remaining water and stir in the beaten egg yolks.  Stirring constantly, bring mixture to a boil over medium heat.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and boil, stirring constantly for 1 to 2 minutes as sauce thickens.  Remove from heat and stir in the remaining ingredients for the filling.  Pour into the pie crust and spread evenly.

In a separate bowl, using an electric mixer on high-speed, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Gradually add the sugar and cream of tartar and continue beating until the whites are stiff and glossy.  Spread over the pie filling making sure that the meringue goes completely to the edge of the pie crust all the way around the pie.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes or until the meringue is lightly browned.  Let cool, serve to your friends and family and accept all compliments graciously!

One response »

  1. And I said I wasn’t going to cry today. Lemon Meringue was my Dad’s favorite pie. Although my mother would make a dozen or more traditional pies at Thanksgiving he would always say ” what, no lemon pie?” Just to tease her. It was six years ago today that he passed away and I miss him every day . . . Perhaps it’s time for me to make a pie. Thanks my friend.

Leave a Reply

