A Parade, A Letter and A Lifeline

Standard

Today was a good day! First of all, I’d like to say a big  “THANK YOU!” to all of you who followed my Black History Month Book parade.  Today was the last day and I had so much fun perusing all 28 or so books and carefully selecting each one to share with you.  It brought back fond memories of reading with Mr. C when he was little and I even came across books that my sister gave to me when I was a little girl (one of the benefits of having a sister who is an adult when you are a little kid).  I only hope that you enjoyed it half as much as I did and that you found some really good books to share with your children.  You know what I’m really excited about?  Finding new books to share with you next year!  For those of you that have no idea what I’m talking about, in honor of Black History Month, I sponsored a book parade of books for children and teens, by authors of color.  I created a board on Pinterest  (search Lisa Owen) and each morning I added a new book which posted to Twitter and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/Mysocalledglamorouslifewordpresscom).  You can head over to Pinterest and follow my board (or any of my other boards for that matter) to see a brief description of each book and I will list them at the end of this post.

You know what else happened today? I received a letter in the mail from a family friend, “just because”.  Really! She was thinking about me and my family so, she wrote me a letter, “just because”.  I don’t know about you, but I rarely get letters and I love them.  Oh, I’m constantly in touch with people but, anymore it’s by email or text or some form of social media. However, this was a hand written letter.  I felt so special! Obviously, I think it comes as no surprise that I would feel this way after all, I like to read and I like to write.  However, letter writing is an art form that has fallen by the wayside.  In fact, writing skills  in general have taken a big hit with the advent of tweeting and text messaging.   I was horrified when I read one of my then high schooler’s papers and saw abbreviations used in text messages (for instance “u” for “you”) .  Needless to say, there was a very long tutorial that followed.  However, this was a lovely letter, thoughtful and sincere and it really made my day.  I promise that I am going to sit down some time in the next week, probably at the crack of dawn when the house is quiet, and write a letter back to her…just because.

Then, there was something that happened that wasn’t necessarily good but, it reminded me of why I started this blog in the first place.  In spite of our differences, whether it’s race, religion or politics, there are common threads that tie our lives together.  We all experience highs and lows, triumphs and difficulties and sometimes it helps to know that someone else has been there and gets it. There are people who will celebrate with us and people who will reach out to us when things are not going so well.  I believe that we all have more in common than our differences, it just gets mixed up in all of the noise and garbage that surrounds us on a daily basis.  And, we can’t be afraid to be the person to do the reaching out, after all, everyone needs assistance or encouragement every now and then…even me.

All in all, even though I’m very tired, and I’m struggling to lose my last two pounds to get to my first weight loss goal (and my first pair of Reward Shoes),  I consider today to have been very satisfying indeed.  Now to move on to Friday so I can wrap this week up.  Oh, and here is the complete list of books on the Book Parade that I promised you.  As you purchase selections and read them, let me know how you like them.  Good Night!

2013 Black History Month Book Parade

1. Jump Back Honey, The Poems of Paul Lawrence Dunbar

2. Amazing Grace, by Mary Hoffman

3. The Tangerine Tree, by Regina Hanson

4. Moja Means One, A Swahili Counting Book/Jambo Means Hello, A Swahili Alphabet Book (2 books), by Muriel Feelings

5. Monster, by Walter Dean Meyers

6. Jo Jo’s Flying Side kick, by Brian Pinkney

7. The People Could Fly, by Virginia Hamilton

8. Queen of the Scene, by Queen Latifah

9. I Like Myself, by Karen Beaumont

10. Skin Again, by Bell Hooks

11. Follow the Drinking Gourd, by Jeannette Winter

12. I Love My Hair!, by Natasha Tarpley

13. Malcolm X, A Fire Burning Brightly, by Walter Dean Meyers

14. The Colors of Us, by Karen Katz

15. Hot City, by Barbara Joosse

16. Anansi the Spider, A tale From the Ashanti, by Gerald McDermott

17. It’s Raining laughter, by Nikki Grimes

18. Imani in the Belly, by Deborah M. Newton Chocolate

19. These Hands, by Margaret M. Hanson

20. Song of Solomon, by Toni Morrison

21. Kindred, by Octavia Butler

22. Beautiful Ballerina, by Marilyn Nelson

23. Nappy Hair, By Carolivia Herron

24. Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky, by Faith Ringgold

25. Bad Boy, by Walter Dean Meyers

26. Soul Looks Back in Wonder, by Tom Feelings

27. Once Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams Garcia

28. Of Thee I Sing, A Letter to My Daughters, by Barack Obama

2 responses »

  1. I really appreciate this blog and the effort you place in sharing so much with your readers. Thank-you so much! BP

  2. Pingback: Everyone Loves a Parade | mysocalledglamorouslife

Leave a Reply

