Random Thoughts – Volume 1

Standard

I am barely functioning.  My lack of sleep has stunted my thought process and ability to focus on any one particular topic for longer than a few minutes.  So, as I was contemplating tonight’s blog topic, I realized that staying on point might be a problem.  So, this morning while driving (can you believe I’m still driving after six sleep deprived nights?) home from the gym, listening to Led Zeppelin’s “Cashmere” (because it was that kind of morning), I realized that I had all of these random thoughts skipping across my mind.  And I mean REALLY random!  for instance:

1. Did you know that crows can recognize human faces and if they see someone who had been mean or abusive to them they will warn other crows to avoid them or join with other crows to attack? Now, I heard this on television then my son, Mr. C, confirmed it.  I know that you’re skeptical but, I should probably tell you that Mr. C is the holder of all sorts of useless and weird information so, I’m guessing that there’s a good chance that there may be some truth to it.

See, I told you…totally random.

Or, how about this one:

2. Kim Kardashian is going to  be someone’s mother.  That is all.

Did I mention that I went to the gym this morning?  I think I did.  Anyway, I thought I was going for one class but, in my impaired state I read the schedule wrong and walked into another.  I was in way over my head but, I was too proud to just walk out of the class.  So, I stayed and I ran and I kicked and I did high leg lefts and low leg lifts.  I did jumping jacks and push ups and ran some more.  There was some other stuff but, you get the gist.  At one point, I looked around the room and thought that I must have been the oldest person there.  That should have been a tip but then, I saw this little lady that looked to be in her early to mid sixties.  That gave me hope and I became determined to finish out the class.  I don’t think that I need to tell you but, the older lady kicked my butt!  She was going strong when I finally gave up, wanting to fall to the floor in a sweaty heap screaming “No Mas! No Mas!”   I left  after 45 minutes, while the older lady was still going strong.

By the way, (this may qualify as random thought #3), why was I led to believe that this whole tonsil/adenoids removal thing was no big deal?!  This is the reason for my sleep deprivation induced insanity.  By the time you read this we will be in day 7 of recovery following surgery and there appears to be no end in sight.  Thing 1 won’t eat, she won’t sleep and the whining is at a fever pitch! Look, if anyone tells you that this is “no big deal” when your kid needs it done, they are lying to you! Don’t say that I didn’t warn you.

I’m fading fast but here’s a gem from the Dynamic Duo: Thing 1 was laying on my bed, whining, while Thing 2 patted her back and kissed her cheek.  Thing 1 asked Thing 2 to go upstairs and get her doll.  Thing 2 happily obliged.  Upon her return, Thing 1, then asked Thing 2 to get her a glass of water.   Thing 2, skipped merrily into the kitchen and returned with the water.  Thirty seconds later Thing 1 started to ask Thing 2 to get her  some crayons when Thing 2  responded “There’s something wrong with your throat, not your feet!”   Sisterly love.

Leave a Reply

